Finding a name and a voice

So this is my first blog. Words written by many people on many different platforms before. I’m new to this, as was everyone else before me and will be. And it’s not even my first post, as WordPress already posted a “Hello world” topic. A test, yes, but weird anyway.

The questions you ask yourself (as a reader and writer) is of course: why and how? Why do I (the writer) feel the need to tell the world (the reader) what I think about/of? How do I express myself? And actually a third question: What am I going to write about? There are so many topics, so many opinions, so many blogs to read and comment on. Maybe some people are already bored with this one because I still haven’t talked about what I’m going to write about. Or they stopped reading right at the beginning with “So this is my first blog… blahblahblah”.

Of course you can’t come up with anything new or groundbreaking, no matter in what medium you communicate. What matters is that it’s YOUR (or in this case my) perspective and opinions. Of course they can coincide with the reader’s  own (or not). Still that’s your own unique voice… or maybe it echoes the voices of many others. That’s maybe one of the reasons to write a blog. To find out more about yourself. So maybe this is more like a diary, only a public diary, depends on how you calibrated your private settings.

Okay, finding a voice will be an ongoing process. What about the name, the title? I chose the term “name” because I think a blog is (in a way) an organic thing which evolves, changes over time (or so I hope), maybe even becoming something completely different than you expect (much like children, only it doesn’t cost as much… maybe time, but not money… yet).

The title: The idea of “emotional ride” just jumped directly into my head, mainly because of the “Emotional Rollercoaster” album of the band Ridel High which pretty much summarizes life in general for me: Ups and downs, but emotional all the time. I wanted to add “blog” then, like “emotional rollercoaster blog ride” or “emotional blog ride”. But of course this is already a blog, so what’s the point? The point is that I started asking myself what a blog actually is. Because I didn’t know and haven’t read many blogs, I thought why not taking “multimedia” and using it on all levels, not only the technology level. Because a medium doesn’t necessarily have to be a movie, book or a game. It can pretty much be everything. Life as a medium (as grand as it sounds or reads) is a medium in which all our experiences (good or bad) come together. So writing about life is not too bad a topic, and of course it doesn’t have to be whining and bitching about one’s own mistakes one can’t undo (even though it could be used for that), but whining and bitching about ALL kinds of things… but also being “very positive” (to quote one of my favorite lines from “Napoleon Dynamite”) about stuff. Stuff being everything one encounters and has an opinion about… which is A LOT.

So if you skipped all the “blahblahbla” and just wanted to get the answer to the first post’s title, here you go: “Emotional Multimedia Ride” deals with everything I have an opinion about.

About nufafitc

Being an avid gamer, cinemaniac, and bookworm in addition to other things the internet and new media present, I'm also very much into DIY music, rock and pop in particular. Writing short or longer pieces about anything that interests me has always made me happy. As both an editor for German website "Adventure-Treff" and UK website "Future Sack", I like to write reviews and news about recent developments in the movies, games and book industry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

