A break from and a new beginning of writing

If you’ve followed this blog closely, you’ll have surely realized that there haven’t been as many articles published from March til now as before March. Of course this had again personal reasons. Keeping the flow of writing each day is sometimes tough, and as there isn’t much money in this for me (except for the GOG and Amazon referral links revenue), motivation is playing the biggest role here. Don’t get me wrong, it was and still is a lot of fun thinking about new topics to cover, and even if most have become gaming-related, I find satisfaction in bringing all these news I stumble upon to new and old readers alike.

Stressed or not to be stressed with time
Obviously, some articles take longer to prepare than others, especially when writing an in-depth review that includes screenshots as well. Taking into account that I usually play through all of the games I review, it’s not easy to cover as many as I’d like to. Writing an article each day takes up even more time, while needing some of that time for private life outside of blogging and the internet is essential as well, not only because one can clear one’s head and doesn’t get too stressed about deadlines one sets oneself, but also to find inspiration and new things to write about.

The future of blogging
So how do we go from here? The last months were all about gaming reviews, and it was simply awesome to spend time on playing classic titles I either experienced before in some way or played for the first time. As some were quite time-consuming due to their length, it wasn’t always easy to keep up with regular article publication, but I managed somehow. Rest assured that I’ll try to keep this output of at least 3-4 reviews a month going, as long as the number of review copies and/or other games in my collection don’t dry up. And that’s not going to happen anytime soon (big thanks to GOG for providing codes, but also to other developers and publishers!).

Now this gaming-focused writing left me in a precarious situation, as it might have alienated some of my readers who expected more movie/music reviews or news and other non-digital coverage. Even gaming news was left behind quite a bit. Again rest assured that I’ll address this problem in the near future, already starting this month. But yes, gaming was, is and will be one of the major topics I’ll write about, simply because I’m more excited about a new or classic game than about an upcoming old(er) movie, book or music video/album. Still I’ll prepare more movie reviews and features in addition to some theme park and other outside (or indoors) activities cover stories, although I don’t want to make promises I can’t keep. However, with Halloween coming up, the annual movie/gaming special week(s) will definitely happen if nothing else (like work or other personal things) change my plans.

Reflecting on writing
In the end, despite a longer break from writing, this was actually a good thing, as it made me realize that people were still visiting the blog and reading the latest articles, and I’d like to thank you for that, i.e. having the patience and motivation to follow it/me. I actually think that writing about not writing makes it easier to see things differently, more clearly, and this should be done more regularly, i.e. reflecting on one’s own writing and what one wants to achieve. Why doing a blog at all or writing for a website if it becomes more work than fun? Fortunately, despite having been a bit stressful from time to time, it always felt like the latter.

Maybe I’ll do this kind of looking-back-at-past-writing thing more frequently, maybe even once per month. Having a yearly review of all things past was great last time, but it also took a lot of time to compile the lists with every single article, so this might be a good way of giving a general overview of what happened, even if it means that the blog entry becomes longer than expected, like this one right here. Of course I’m also open for suggestions and opinions from you!

If you liked reading this article, make sure you pay a visit to Future Sack which kindly features it as well, and every LIKE or comment is appreciated on EMR’s Facebook page or FS’s Facebook page :). Or FOLLOW the blog on EMR’s Twitter page.

About nufafitc

Being an avid gamer, cinemaniac, and bookworm in addition to other things the internet and new media present, I'm also very much into DIY music, rock and pop in particular. Writing short or longer pieces about anything that interests me has always made me happy. As both an editor for German website "Adventure-Treff" and UK website "Future Sack", I like to write reviews and news about recent developments in the movies, games and book industry.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Gaming, Movies, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A break from and a new beginning of writing

  1. I really enjoyed this update and a little on ‘behind the scenes’ reflecting on your writing and this blog. I haven’t been on as much since late winter (spring) myself either as I’m in the process of my new biz and trying to figure out how to better cover both my interests: travel and food as I’ve realized I don’t think it’s working to combine both. So I really want to keep my travel-related blog but do one that’s solely baking/food as well. As a result, I haven’t been posting as much because like you said, a long detailed post can be very time consuming and sometimes you just get too busy to keep caught up.
    But I do hope that you are still enjoying doing your blog overall and it isn’t too much work and at least a little bit of fun. That’s great that your readers keep following along and it’s always so much easier and encouraging to keep writing when you know people are reading and appreciate it. I definitely hope it’s not too stressful, but of course you had mentioned things may be stressful for personal reasons, so perhaps that’s a small factor as well? Life can get in the way sometimes and be a distraction which can be good though, too! šŸ˜€ I hope you keep continuing to write your blog, or you figure out a better way to do a mix of things so that you don’t find it too much work or stressful. Since it sounds like the bulk of your readers have stuck around and really enjoy your game reviews, perhaps only allowing yourself to post once or twice a week, for example, instead of more, might be a good option? If people know you only post your reviews, say, Monday and Friday, they’ll still be back and looking forward to those posts.
    Speaking of which, I’m behind in reading your blog so I had better catch up soon! Hope you’re doing well, things are going a bit better and you’re having a great summer.
    Keep up the great work and take care
    Cheers! šŸ˜€

    • nufafitc says:

      Thank you so much again for the feedback and this very long comment ;).
      Right now I’m posting one article per day, but even if it takes some time, the shorter news postings are easier to write and still lots of fun, especially since some people take them for short reviews, which is kinda cool, considering that I won’t be able to cover every single game that comes out, or movie, or anything else.
      What I’m also doing is to write blog posts in advance, so that when I don’t have the time or want to take a day off, I simply use these. They’re still news, but unlike big websites that have multiple news per day, I just do one :).
      It also helps to organize topics. Something like this planning is especially important for some weekly specials. I already do some Halloween preparations ;).
      Again thanks for staying with the blog and commenting on posts, this really makes writing even more enjoyable and fun than it already is.

  2. Pingback: Overview of (blog) life in August 2016 | Emotional Multimedia Ride

Leave a Reply

